Dicecreator's Blog
Handmade dice, for the gamer and collector.

We do what we must, because we can.

The nerdiest of you might have already recognized this catch phrase…and you’ll have loved it.

For the rest of us who are still alive, that is part of a game called Portal, wich more or less is a 3D puzzle game involving teletransport between, as you already imagined, portals. Momentum, inertia and heading (altough ground alignment is auto corrected, for the sake of having fun on the game) are mantained when trasversing a portal. Go see in-game videos at youtube, you will enjoy them ^^

There is a thing tough, I have NOT done the Companion cube. From my point of view, it’s been a bit overdone…

…and I wanted to do something else.

Today, I found the music video I pointed above, and just thought that doing the Aperture Science logo on a die would be rather cool. And indeed it was! ^^

And I was about to publish the post…when just thought about all the imagery, stickmen/cakes/portals that fill the game, and I just had to do it…  :3

And here’s the second die in all it’s awesomeness:




Finally, for those who liked the song so much, as to be downloading it right now, here are the lyrics  :3

One Response to “We do what we must, because we can.”

  1. It IS cool!

    As an art designer I always appreciate decent art work! And connected with one of my favourite games it is just awesome.

    Sell it, I’d buy one!


Leave a Reply

