Dicecreator's Blog
Handmade dice, for the gamer and collector.

Working on the edge.

There is a spanish expression wich says:  “Better late than never.” Today’s post is exactly that, in many ways.

First of all, timing:

  • Usually I manage to publish between 00:00 and 01:00,  yet today it’s about 8:17 when I’m starting to write, and it will probably take an hour to finish, review, correct, review (repeat various times) and finally publish this post. I hope you didn’t mind.
  • The reason for this is simple. Lately I have been through a cold (I think so) wich, usually, makes me sleepy. Today, tough, I knew I had to do a die, to mantain my alternate day post routine. I didn’t felt imaginative enough these past days, to begin a new die, and some of wich I have done, are presents, so I cannot show them yet, to mantain surprise for their consignees.

    So?

    I got the “easy” route wich was seeking through my designs database for old or forgotten designs. Luckily I had one great design wich would benefit from the improved thecnique achieved over three or four months since it was created.

Second, not all designs get ever done:

  • Sometimes I just keep going and just forget about them, good news tough is that I never delete anything, so they might get done eventually.




Anyhow, let’s talk about the die itself.

This die is a direct descendant of the Nevermet Press die. It’s origin was a mashup between the Nevermet Press symbol, and a dotted die. When finished, Mr. Jacbos kindly allowed me to use the gearwheel design, providing NMP could use it as well.

This die is quite tricky (a.k.a. slightly expensive) to do,in fact, gives name to this post. The gearwheels have 13mm in diameter, wich gives roughly 1,5mm  of edge width on the die, wich, for the inlaid metal technique, is quite small. Also, we have the “complete ring” issue, fortunately, the pieces are quite big, so they tend to remain in their place. (In this die, the “1” and “2” gears popped up a little, but where repaired and now they sit flush to the surface.

Pricing: 9,5€

Shop link.

And that’s pretty much it. I will probably do a set of 4D6 for my personal usage ^^ that’s how much I like them   :3

3 Responses to “Working on the edge.”

  1. Hi,

    I really like your gearwheel dice and some others as well, but I don’t like black. Do you make these in other colors as well, like bone or white?

    • Yup, right now there is green, red, white, blue and Yellow (I have never done an inlaid die in yellow…it seems…odd…)
      They are made as a special request, and carry an extra fee of 1€ per die.

  2. I have to say i believe this is my new favorite dice you have created so far. the detail and ingenuity is amazing and i really need to save my cash to get a 4 set of these. PS. i hope this comment enters me in the raffle. ^_^


Leave a Reply

