Dicecreator's Blog
Handmade dice, for the gamer and collector.

Boundaries & Color

Doing tests for a custom comission, today I tried to push the limits of the metal inlay…more or less succesfully…

On one hand, I tested an idea I had around for a while, adding a bit of color to the metal inlay. In this case, a little red in the form of copper inserts…

On the other, doing some detailed work…wich proved difficult to achieve…

Can anyone say what the number “4” symbol tries to be?

-EDIT-

Well, finally, the number “4” symbol got dumped…they where suposedly, four starships…but the Metal inlaid technique doesn’t allow for the finer detail needed for doing a recognisable starship silhouette…instead, I remembered how much do I love starmaps…so I did this:

a LOT better, don’t you think?

8 Responses to “Boundaries & Color”

  1. I’d guess sea weed?

  2. I don’t think I get what #3 is (or why it represents 3).

    • I’ts a circuit board with three components…I might move one of the pathways to clarify it a little…

      • ok, I can see it now.

        I think you need to remove _2_ pathways.

        It looks (to me) like you’ve got a resistor (the long and narrow component), a capacitor (the round one), and an integrated circuit or multiplexer (square/rectangular one, where all of the pathways converge).

        Between the pathways to the capacitor and the pathways to the resister are 2 pathways that don’t connect to anything. I would remove those two, as they just serve (in my opinion) to clutter the image. Removing them would, in my opinion, make the 3 components stand out more. Plus, you might be able to enlarge the 3 components slightly, giving them more emphasis over the pathways.

      • Agreed ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I like the spacechart a lot ๐Ÿ˜€
    As always, really cool dices ^^ Grats!

  4. I love #5, Good idea for a die with scars!


Leave a Reply

