Dicecreator's Blog
Handmade dice, for the gamer and collector.

Watchmen Dice: Silk Spectre

While not being an expert in comic books or graphic novels, I thought that if I was going to make a die for every character, I should at least go a little deeper than just reading the book (I won’t say “OR watch the movie”, as well made it could be, the comic will always be better ^^ )

Surprisingly, wikipedia didn’t turn that much info on the character. Had I judged her then, Laurie Juspeczyk would have gone as the most underestimated character ever.

While finishing the Comedian die, I suspected that as deep as the other main characters where, I had failed to notice the intricacies of the heroine.  Finally, I found this, a really good (to me) Silk Spectre character analysis.

The first design I did was a really simplified Spectre, portraying only the gold colored parts of the costume.

Pros: no really small parts.

Cons: maybe too much simplified.

So, a second revision was made, including the high heeled boots.

Pros: better recognisable.

Cons: overall smaller size.

Wich one do you like more?

Biweekly dice theme poll

2 Responses to “Watchmen Dice: Silk Spectre”

  1. I like the first one the most. I find that with just legs and torso, the second one becomes some kind of weird abstract figure. I guess Silk Spectre is the hardest watch(wo)man to make a dice for, since she doesn’t have that simple iconic symbol like the Comedian’s button, Rorschach’s maks, Nightowl’s ship/mask and Ozymandiaz’… dog? I guess he could use his Egyptian eye or another Egyptian symbol (unless you use his quite iconic comic-book suit). Maybe you could add Silk Spectre’s hair, since it’s iconic and geometrically simple. This is one of my favorite pictures of Silk Spectre, love the pose, just for inspiration: http://www.fashiontrendsetter.com/content/news/2009/Silk-Spectre-II-Costume.html

    Keep up the good work. Love your custom dice.

    • While doing the prototypes I wondered too about her hair. I even drawed it, but in the end, if it was with the simple one, it felt quite strange (with no well outlined arms or torso…) and with the second one would have made all the parts too small to have any useful detail.
      I will probably do a revisit of the dice once I have finished them all, but thanks for the input. ^^


Leave a Reply

